Posted by: Jackie Garcia | October 4, 2010

The Kin, The Bigger Lights, & Honor By August at 9:30!

I’ve been off to a slow start with this blog; and have been awful keeping up with it. So I finally decided to post some pictures of a concert from the 9:30 Club a few weeks back. I really go to too many concerts to keep up with, and that’s the way I like it, but it leaves me with tons of photos to go through.

The pictures I’m posting are actually from a concert at 9:30 Club on September 11, 2010. I was really stoked about this show, as I mentioned in my DC Fashion Night Out post. I’m a big fan of The Bigger Lights, whom are Virginia locals. It was their first time playing at the 9:30 Club and they, along with Aussies The Kin, opened up for Honor By August. All three bands were great! The Kin were a joy to watch. For more mellow music, they were entertaining live. Β They jumped into the crowd, formed a circle, and played a few songs in the pit. It’s always special to see bands interact with the audience and that’s another reason I love smaller venues over large stadiums. Intimate shows like The Kin’s can’t happen in a stadium. It was my first time seeing them and I really enjoyed their set. I also talked to them after the show, and they are really sweet guys. I didn’t take too many pictures of The Kin; I was more interested in shooting The Bigger Lights.

I’m still shooting with my Canon Rebel Xsi, which isn’t the best for low light photography. The ISO doesn’t go very high and I’m usually pushing it by using ISO speeds of 400-800. But I’ve recently started using Flash, since this past quarter my lighting teacher introduced it. Personally, I’ve never been too big a fan of using flash at concerts because it eliminates beautiful strobes and lighting of the venue. But I’ve been experimenting using it at concerts and in this case it was an asset. The lighting wasn’t too good for The Kin or The Bigger Lights, but it picked up for Honor By August. So I didn’t really need to use the flash for Honor By August’s set. 9:30 Club usually has decent if not outstanding lighting, so there isn’t too much of an issue when shooting there. I don’t have a flash of my own and have been checking out Canon flashes from my school, which is really nice considering I don’t have the money for more equipment just yet. The only bad thing about relying on the school’s equipment is that I wasn’t able to check out a flash during the break in between this quarter and the past one. It was a bummer because I really could have used it at the Rock and Roll Hotel to shoot The Dance Party. But that’s another story…and hopefully blog to come! πŸ˜‰

Besides having a great time shooting one of my favorite local bands and seeing some other great acts, I did get to see two awesome photographers in action! I noticed husband Corey and wife Erin of “Snapp-Shot Photography,” shooting the show. Β I planned on saying “hello” after the show but missed them. It was nice to see local photographers, I admire at the the show. It also made me a little envious of their team. It’s smart to have a second photographer at events or certain shoots; the Snapp-Shot couple was able to be at two places at once. At one point I decided to shoot some wide shots from the balcony. Erin eventually came up to shoot at the balcony as well, while Corey was in the pit. At one point during Honor By August’s set, their singer jumps off stage and makes his way to the bar. He climbs onto the bar and sings from there. I tried to get a few shots from the balcony and then made my way downstairs but by the time I made it to the bar, he hops off. I know both Erin and Corey were shooting him at that moment, and I’m hoping to see the outcomes of their photographs. Although, I was a little bummed to have missed a cooler shot from the pit I was having a blast, and loved seeing the Snapp-Shot photographers at work. They really do shoot some great photos and have shot some of the most beautiful wedding photographs I’ve ever seen. Here’s a link to their website:Β http://www.snappshotphotography.com/

Also, visit my Flickr page for some more photos of this concert and others I had an opportunity to shoot. http://www.flickr.com/photos/jackieshadows/

PS: More photos to come!

Responses

  1. With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any
    problems of plagorism or copyright violation? My website has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my permission. Do you know any ways to help stop content from being ripped off? I’d certainly
    appreciate it.

    • Hi Laurene!
      Sorry for the late response I’ve been neglecting my blog. But I personally haven’t noticed any issues with plagiarism with my content. However, since you posted this under my concert post i figure you’re talking about music photography. Unfortunately, when you post online, your images can always be stolen for personal use even if it just sits on a someone’s desktop. I recommend copyrighting your images before you post. It doesn’t stop people from taking your photos but it means you can win money in case of a lawsuit if someone used your images to make money themselves. I also recommend watermarking or putting a link to your website on all your photos. I personally don’t practice this but am getting in the habit of it. Images pop up everywhere and if someone is just posting your image because they like it then it would be great if traffic can lead back to the source, you. Also, if you shoot images for portfolio and collaborate with people have them sign a photo release form that states that credit will always be given to the photographer and other vendors when posted online, and may not be used for commercial use.

      Hope that helps! πŸ™‚
      -Jackie Garcia
      http://www.jackiegarciaphotos.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

