Posted by: Jackie Garcia | April 26, 2011

Fashion Fashion Fashion Go!

I’ve been having a blast with my fashion marathon over the past few months. My fashion portfolio is finally moving in the right direction. I’ve been shooting on location more which I totally love. I just wanted to comment on a few of my shoots done for class and portfolio. You can see all these images at www.flickr.com/jackieshadows

Nicolette Smith

Nikki is one of my newest friends, and she’s a great model. She’s so exciting and fun to photograph. She is down too shoot as long as we need to get the shot, and just keep shooting for fun. 🙂 This was my second time getting to photograph her and I’m so glad she was back to shoot. The first time I shot her was learning and making mistakes. This shoot was way cooler and was shot using flash. We shot in a basement. It is super grungy, and pretty sure Nikki spotted a rat scurry by. It was fun to contrast a beautiful model with a creepy, grungy basement. We both came into this shoot a little blind and open to whatever. This was a more spontaneous shoot, with little planning. However, I did envision Nikki being able to touch the ceiling or pipes, at least that’s what I wanted and we got it!

Nadia Christian

I did a shoot at Hook in Georgetown DC for an assignment, and Nadia was my model. This was my first time working with a model who wasn’t a friend I forced in front of the camera 😉 I was a little nervous hearing so many stories from classmates about models not showing up to shoots. I don’t know where they get their models from but Nadia is the complete opposite. She was so prompt and down for anything I asked. She didn’t mind lying up side down on Hook’s stairs for a few shots. Nadia is super sweet and has the greatest smile. I couldn’t have been happier with my first experience shooting a real model. Hook Restaurant is mostly neutral and white. So I wanted to have some bright red accessories that would pop in the photos, I went for a more commercial look.

Link: http://nadiachristian.com/default.aspx

You can find the dresses she wore at http://www.seladia.com/ I couldn’t resist buying those two dresses when I accompanied Photographer Jon Thorpe on his shoot with Seladia. Too many cute outfits for reasonable prices!

Juelles Chester

Hair/Makeup: Ron Blush

Theme: Glamour Girl

Photographed on location at Continental Pool Lounge in Arlington, VA using strobe lights, and Canon 5D Mark II.

It takes a great team to make fabulous fashion! Ron and Juelles were a joy during this shoot. We all connected on big hair, glamour, and “drag queen” over the top makeup. We joked that Juelle’s eye shadow was Avatar and her eye lashes Black Swan inspired. We started the day fueled by Gaga and Bieber tunes and ended the day with fantastic editorial, fashion images. This shoot was so my style- wild styling and vibrant colors. And Juelles was awesome! You don’t need to direct her and she came up with spontaneous ideas. That salad prop was her idea and it’s hilarious. She was so much fun to work with.

Link: http://juelles.tumblr.com/

Yuliya Aranovska

Hair/Makeup: Ron Blush

I met Yuliya at Jon Thorpe’s Seladia shoot. She is such a personality; super sweet and funny. I approached Yuliya about doing a shoot at Black Cat, but ended up having her model for me at Rock & Roll Hotel in DC. I was originally going to shoot my friends’ band Hit This City there but we had to re-schedule. It was super last minute, and a little stressful trying to prepare wardrobe, and a hair/makeup vision. I just had to call Ron Blush to work his magic again. I bought a blue dress for under $20.00 at Annie Creamcheese in Georgetown, happy surprise since that place is high end retail. I asked Ron for big hair once again, and wild grey makeup (more black swan this time). I wanted Yuliya to have a rock edge to her, since we were shooting at a music venue. That day was a little hectic with mixed up equipment and shorter shooting time but all worked out in the end. And I couldn’t of had a greater person model for me that day. Yuliya was such a trooper through the madness, and I had a blast hearing her stories with Ron at the salon.

Victoria Bella

Hair: Selma (Bang Salon)

Makeup: Molly

Victoria reached out to me on my facebook about working together and I was flattered to hear she liked my recent work. However, I’m learning that shoots don’t always go as planned. My location fell through and I ended up combining forces with my friend Rosie Sandrovich on this shoot. Rosie had a location ready and she expressed she wanted to shoot two models. Juelles was going to be part of this shoot as well but there was a little mix up with her busy schedule. Those two are good friends, so we’ll just have to plan another team shoot in the future. Victoria is a classic beauty, and this image is my pride and joy. I’m really proud of my lighting and her great styling. Her makeup was twiggy inspired and her flowery pink dress was purchased at Hot Topic, surprising I know! I had purchased a similar dress and shoes for Juelles to wear and ended up keeping the shoes. Dangerous, when a model has the same shoe size as me haha.

Victoria was rad to work with and nice enough to model for two photographers that day. See Rosie’s images here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/ringaroundrosie/

Katascha White

Makeup: Ron Blush

My teacher assigned a student choice assignment for our final. And my head raced with all kinds of IAMX inspirations. I have been in love with the crazy geometric makeup and styling of the band. I also became obsessed with dangling light bulbs after I saw the President video….and the lights hanging in Rosslyn’s Cosi, which I frequent. So I contacted my old class mate from high school, Katascha, to see if she would model for me. She’s a strikingly pretty girl and I was stoked when she agreed to the shoot. She’s great at doing her own styling and did her own hair on location. But of course, I had to call my favorite stylist Ron Blush one more time to do that crazy IAMX makeup. I’ve been wanting to do more wacky shoots and that makeup was totally on point. I’m so happy Katascha was totally comfortable sporting that “mime chic” makeup haha, talk about a real trooper!

Inspiration: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=__cWAsQxttw

Responses

  1. I hear Ron Blush is no longer at Kavenchy. What salon is he with now? Or has he gone freelance?

    I had an amazing haircut with him last summer and just called to schedule another one, only to find out he’s no longer there.

    Thanks!

    • Just sent a message to your listed gmail address, on how to contact Ron Blush.

      Let me know if you didn’t receive it.

      Take care!

  2. Just found out Ron is no longer at Kavenchy. Loved the cut and highlights he gave me in Feb. Can you send me contact info? Thanks


Leave a Reply

Categories

